2016 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon vs 2016 Jeep Wrangler Sahara

2016 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon
2016 Jeep Wrangler Sahara
2016 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon
2016 Jeep Wrangler Sahara
17 city / 21 highway
Fuel Economy
17 city / 21 highway

2016 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon vs 2016 Jeep Wrangler Sahara. What’s The Difference?

Serving Macon, Union City, Thomaston, GA

The 2016 Wrangler joins the ranks of Jeep’s most highly-acclaimed vehicles. It’s not quite an SUV and not quite a car either. It’s a 4×4 vehicle with loads of personality and rugged enthusiasm. The 2016 Wrangler invites drivers to experience the world and challenges them to explore their most adventurous aspirations. The 2016 Jeep Wrangler is available in a number of different model trims, but the Rubicon and Sahara are two that really stand out. Let’s take a closer look at them both in a head-to-head match-up.

How Does the Wrangler Sahara and Rubicon Perform?
Both the Rubicon and Sahara are Trail Rated and have the same engine configuration. It all starts with the dependable 3.6 Liter V6 VVT engine. Both come with a six-speed manual transmission, but you can opt for a five-speed automatic on both models. The differences between the models start with four-wheel drive capability. The Sahara has a shift-on-the-fly part-time four-wheel drive. It can do the rock crawling and towing, but when you need true four-wheel-drive capability you need to manually switch it over. The Rubicon has a slightly different system. It has a low 4 to 1 gear ratio that gives you awesome low-end torque on all four wheels. The Sahara has a heavy-duty suspension system that is powered by gas shocks, and the Rubicon has a performance suspension that can handle nearly anything an off-road experience can throw at it.

Wrangler interior


There are a few subtle design differences between the Rubicon and the Sahara. The Wrangler Rubicon comes standard with 17-inch mineral gray alloy wheels. The Sahara has a few more options here. You can choose between the standard 18-inch wheels or the optional 17-inch, 7 spoke rims. They both come standard with a full metal door, but with the Rubicon, you can have the option of a half-metal door or a plastic front door window. Heated and leather seats are optional on both models. Yet the Sahara model has a few more options for color variations inside the cabin. The Rubicon has manual windows and door locks, but the Sahara has an all-power window and door combination.

What Are the Safety Features?

In terms of safety, both the Wrangler Rubicon and Sahara are loaded with the best that Jeep can offer. In terms of electronic assisted systems, both have electronic roll mitigation, traction control, and electronic stability control. Both have advanced airbags, a fully padded sport bar, and a rigid design steel frame. Remote keyless entry is standard on the Sahara, but it’s not available on the Rubicon. The Rubicon does have an optional remote starting feature, however.

The 2016 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon has a little bit of everything that off-road enthusiasts are looking for. It’s little wonder that it was named 4×4 of the decade by FourWheeler Magazine. The 2016 Jeep Wrangler Sahara trim has a few more style options than the Rubicon and is poised to be a consumer favorite for years to come. It’s time for you to be the judge. Head on down to Five Star Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram Macon and test drive both models today.

MSRP excludes destination, taxes, title and registration fees. Starting at MSRP refers to the base model, optional equipment not included. Pricing and offers may change at any time without notification. To get full pricing details, see your dealer.

All figures are EPA estimates. Actual mileage may vary.

Five Star Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram Macon 32.8881449, -83.6779614.